“Women and Pop Culture” Class Visit at SMC – Feminist Frequency

“Women and Pop Culture” Class Visit at SMC

Earlier this year, Melanie Klein of Feminist Fatale invited me to speak to her Women and Popular Culture class at Santa Monica College in California.  I spent the hour talking about how powerful Political Remix Video and Vidding are for critiquing media messages and fostering a talk back culture.  We also discussed the legal ramifications surrounding the use of copyrighted material and what the Fair Use doctrine is.

One of Melanie’s students, Jessica O’Keefe of O’Keefe Films, filmed and edited together this three part video of my talk.

[vimeo 13216801 w=500 h=281]
[vimeo 13216819 w=500 h=281]
[vimeo 13216842 w=500 h=281]

Click here for links to original videos and some resources >>

Earlier this year, Melanie Klein of Feminist Fatale invited me to speak to her Women and Popular Culture class at Santa Monica College in California.  I spent the hour talking about how powerful Political Remix Video and Vidding are for critiquing media messages and fostering a talk back culture.  We also discussed the legal ramifications surrounding the use of copyrighted material and what the Fair Use doctrine is.

One of Melanie’s students, Jessica O’Keefe of O’Keefe Films, filmed and edited together this three part video of my talk.

Original videos and resources:

Political Remix Videos:
The Price is Creepy – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NDo7WbWBJbQ
Racism in Disney – http://www.politicalremixvideo.com/2008/07/05/racism-in-disney-mashup/
Reel Grrls Remixed – http://www.politicalremixvideo.com/2010/03/21/reel-grrls-remixed-ads/
Human Energy – http://www.politicalremixvideo.com/2008/06/18/the-power-of-human-energy/
A Message From Unilever (Dove/Axe Remix) http://www.politicalremixvideo.com/2010/03/06/a-message-from-unilever/

Vidding:
Too Many Dicks – Video Game  http://www.feministfrequency.com/2010/03/remix-too-many-dicks/
Detachable Penis – http://www.politicalremixvideo.com/2009/03/21/detachable-penis/
Womanizer – http://www.politicalremixvideo.com/2009/03/07/kirk-is-a-womanizer/
One girl revolution – http://arefadedaway.livejournal.com/280454.html

Videos I didn’t have time to show:
Buffy vs. Edward – http://www.rebelliouspixels.com/2009/buffy-vs-edward-twilight-remixed
The Terminator – http://www.politicalremixvideo.com/2007/08/10/the-terminator/
300: This is Revisionism – http://www.politicalremixvideo.com/2008/07/17/300-this-is-revisionism/
Tough Guise Intro – http://www.politicalremixvideo.com/2008/03/26/tough-guise-intro/
Masculinity in Disney – http://www.politicalremixvideo.com/2008/03/26/masculinity-in-disney-films/

Resources:
Creative Commons
Center for Social Media
Organization For Transformative Works
Political Remix Video
Smartmeme

Share this article:
x
Feminist Frequency image

On October 2nd, the highly anticipated debut from Anita Sarkeesian and Ebony Adams will hit shelves. History Vs. Women is going to shake the foundations of what you know about larger-than-life women in history — but more importantly, it’s going to introduce you to a breathtaking tapestry of artists, Amazons, scholars, rebels, and villains you’ll be delighted to know. Pre-order today and get ready to be amazed by what women can do when they dare to be great.